Connect with us


Yatani Tames Gubernatorial Ambitions To Complete Tenure In Uhuru’s Cabinet



Yatani lost the seat to Governor Mohamud Ali after serving for a single term from 2013.
On Wednesday, when the deadline for public servants eying political seats to resign lapsed, he said, “I have carefully weighed the dictates of my current national duty and respect for my president and have reached the decision not to run in the forthcoming August general election.”
Yatani said that he will continue to support President Uhuru Kenyatta in his quest to consolidate his legacy and preside over a smooth transition.

While still in office, Yatani pledged to continue using his national platform to meet the expectations of his people in Marsabit County.
To the people of Marsabit County, I am profoundly humbled by your deep love and confidence in my ability to positively impact your lives.
He said he would endeavor to meet some of these expectations from my current national platform while using the guidance of the Almighty.

The UPYA Party Leader has in recent days been pivotal in spearheading grass-root campaigns for the Raila Odinga-led Azimio La Umoja Movement, urging residents in the northern region to back the former premier’s candidature in the August polls.
Cabinet Secretaries Mutahi Kagwe (Health), Peter Munya (Agriculture) and James Macharia (Transport), who were also expected to resign, announced on Wednesday that they would be staying put to continue discharging their mandate.
Those who resigned are Cabinet Secretaries Charles Keter (Devolution), Sicily Kariuki (Water), John Munyes (Petroleum) and Adan Mohammed (East African Community).
They will be contesting for the gubernatorial seats in Kericho, Nyandarua, Turkana, and Mandera, respectively.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.